A Mum's Journey with Dyspraxia

Christmas, Santa and “Naughty Children”…

on December 20, 2011

So this Christmas I am thrown deeper into “Christmas spirit”, more than ever before.  I don’t know if it’s the age of Kaden & his little sister or if I am seeking it out, like a Christmas junkie.  I LOVE Christmas time, the fantasy of Santa and the excitement of giving and receiving presents.  So does Kaden though, he loves giving presents (sometimes more than receiving them) and he loves parties!

Our children are tired and grumpy, finally its school holidays and they can just “hang out”, but they are still on edge of course, Christmas is coming.

The one part of Christmas that I just can’t cope with is… NAUGHTY CHILDREN!  And that is, the fact that children are labelled naughty (if they misbehave at all) and then told, “Santa is not coming to your house this year”!  How is good parenting manipulating them into being “good” (by their parents standards) by threatening no visit from Santa!

My children are NEVER NAUGHTY… they are just tired, frustrated or angry, the same as their parents.  Or they are expressing themselves (the only way they know how), for something that is upsetting them.  I am so tired at the moment, being the end of the year, organising Christmas and the excitement of it coming.  So that makes me a little grumpy.  No one has told me that I’ve been naughty and Christmas is cancelled, why?  Because I’m an adult, I am respected for being me…

I wonder why we don’t feel the same about our children?

I don’t know why I parent like I do, it could be because of Kaden’s dyspraxia or it could be that’s just who I am.  But the one thing I am sure of is, my children are my equal, they need my love, respect and guidance to become confident adults.

So if you have naughty children in your house, here is a challenge for you.  Today, try just enjoy your children.  Ignore your “to do” list and just have fun with them.  Make Christmas cards, play cars, go for a walk to the park, just have fun!

Have a Merry Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

